Zip My Lips

zip the lips

The past few weeks I have been reading a book called Keep It Shut by Karen Ehman. The tag line is “What to say, how to say it and when to say nothing at all. ” I’m about half way through the book and I’ve become more and more aware of how I use my words. I am more aware of how much words matter and I am totally challenged!

Sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me!

The fact is that words do hurt people. Words can be traced back to the root of most problems. Words can solve conflicts or make them worse. Words bring a whole range of emotions good or bad. With one sentence we can bring down life long friendships and “solid” marriages. We have free will and can choose to say and do what we want in this world but there are always consequences, good or bad. Sin changes everything.

Hatred stirs up conflict but love covers over all wrongs. Wisdom is found on the lips of the discerning.           Proverbs 10:12-13

I am guilty of saying hurtful words to those closest to me. I find it so easy to use my hurtful words to those closest to me. My sin is seen by them and my dirty laundry can not be hidden. I can not take my words back after they have left my mouth. This new study on words has made me become more and more conscious of my attitude positive or negative and the words that coincide. I am such a chatterbox with those closest to me but find it so difficult to speak openly and freely in any other situation. I am awkward and try to fill every quiet gap with words. I can’t stand the silence. The silence must be filled with words. Luckily I live in the mid-west….?

FillTheSilence

I was challenged by this question: If those closest to me were asked which would they say more accurately describes you: a great listener or a constant chatterbox?

I am the chatterbox! I struggle to just listen. I always feel the need to insert my opinion. Someone will ask me to pray about something and I do but I first think about is how the problem could be solved. I want to talk it out and provide a solution to the problem and then pray about it. It all seems so logical….but God wants me to go to him first. He wants me to use my words and go to him. God asks me to make him bigger and myself smaller. By constantly inserting MY opinion into a situation I am constantly trying to take GOD out of the situation.

Set a guard over my mouth Lord, Keep watch over the door of my lips.

Psalm 14 1:3

I have been praying over Psalm 14 1:3. It is my hope that I will be radically changed with how I use my words. I pray for my words to encourage and to lift others up. I pray that my words will bring love to my husband and daughter and not tear them down. I pray that my words would be silent when God needs to be loud.

Before a word is on my tongue you, Lord, know it completely.

Psalm 139:4

Since getting pregnant and now having Hadley I have heard so many different ridiculous words said to my pregnant self or about my baby and I do not like them..Words said without thinking. Truth is that I do the same thing. I can not take back the negative hurtful words I say. I can not unsay what has already been said. The words are already out there creating first impressions and last impressions of myself. I want my words to be gentle and kind. I want my words to make God bigger and myself smaller.

Cheers to new challenges and God changing my heart!

Stacy-signature-300x190

Leave a Reply

